Your browser is not supported any more. Download your preferred modern browser and STAY secure!

CISM—Certified Information Security Manager

Information Technology

ISACA’s Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) certification indicates expertise in information security governance, program development and management, incident management and risk management.

CISM initiated in 2003, is one of ISACA’s premium certifications with more than 50K certified professionals worldwide. CISM can take your career out of the technical realm to management!

Hellenic American Union offers in association with the ISACA Athens Chapter, the official CISΜ Prep Course with ISACA accredited Trainers.

  • To certify with CISM, you must pass the CISM exam and also meet the following prerequisites:

  • A minimum of 5 years of experience in information security, with at least three years in the role of information security manager.
  • Experience must be gained within the past 10 years of the application submission date.
  • This experience must be in at least three of the 4 CISM Job Practice Areas.
  • Substitutions and waivers may apply for up to 2 years of experience.

The CISM exam format

Domain 1 – Information Security Governance (24%)

Domain 2 – Information Risk Management (30%)

Domain 3 – Information Security Program Development and Management (27%)

Domain 4 – Information Security Incident Management (19%)

  • 150 questions
  • 4 hours to complete the exam
  • Questions format: multiple-choice
  • Passing marks: 450 out of 800. (The exam is graded on a scale of 200 to 800 points

ISACA Athens Chapter was established in 1994, became a non-profit professional institute in 2006 and numbers today approximately 500 members from all areas of IT. Currently it is the only chapter of ISACA in Greece and has been awarded four times as Best Large Chapter in Europe/Africa in the last few years (2009, 2012, 2013, 2014). ISACA Athens Chapter is hosted at the Hellenic American Union building (Massalias 22) holding many of its members activities including chapter meetings, conferences, lectures, networking events. 

When and where can I take the test

You can take the test online at a Pearson-Vue Center, or from anywhere and at any time through online proctoring. 

How to apply for CISM

One must first pass the CISM exam and then proceed with the CISM certification application which includes information on:

At least 5 years of IS experience in information security, with at least 3 years in the role of information security manager. Waivers apply

Adherence to the Code of Professional Ethics

Compliance with the CISA Continuing Professional Education Policy

Those who pass the test but do not have the experience required, have up to 5 years to meet the experience requirements.

See more...

Can’t find what you’re looking for?
Back to top